Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Gold Mines, worth it or not?

Recruit

Gold Mines, worth it or not?

Hi guys, I'm still new to the game, and i've done some research about gold productions since it was one of the main resources needed for building upgrades. First, I'm not a gold production hater, so don't flame me for that . I'm just wondering whether Gold mine is worth building consider the resources needed to build one vs. Trading, so, i came up with my math:

A Gold Mine (contain 300 ores) cost 1400 Hardwood Planks 1400 Marbles, and 1500 Tools. Let's say w/o buffs:
    It takes 8 ore to produce 1 gold, so, a mine would gives you 37.5 gold coins
    From Trading i've done with others. On average:
    400 Hardwood Planks = 10 coins --- 1400 Hardwood Planks = 35 coins
    400 Marbles = 12 coins --- 1400 Marbles = 42 coins
    400 Tools = 10 coins --- 1500 Tools = 37.5 coins
    Total: 114.5 coins

Therefore, it took almost 115 Gold coins to start off. Now, Let's get to buffs. According to this Thread http://forum.thesettlersonline.net/t...ght=gold+coins , a Mine would get you 300 gold coins if you buffed your Mine, Smelter, and Coinage constantly (just forget about what it'd cost to make the buffs itself) and you'll have to rebuild them after they're collapsed.

Since i've bought some Building Licenses, my Hardwood production's great, and so Marble, i don't see why we'd need a big production chain for gold when Planks and Marble won't require another dime to maintain once they're established. they're all natural resources, which is nice

So, in my opinion, it's not really worth it to build many gold production buildings for Gold Coins but to obtain them through trades. I've 1 building of each just for the heck of it. And again, I'm not a gold production hater, please don't flame me
    Last edited by Leonidasarmy; 04-21-12 at 06:05 pm.

World
    Zeus