Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: For thoughtful folks and all those "conspiracy" theorists

Recruit
    World
    Zeus

For thoughtful folks and all those "conspiracy" theorists

sorry for the long post ... just wanted to get most of it all in one place ...

First, full disclosure .. I’m a statistician and wedded to logic … but you don’t need to be one to follow the math or the other logic below …. just think about the things that you don’t know and that you’re depending on a German-based company to be objective about whether or not German-based players “win”…

1) It’s a baseline thing - The easiest way to ensure that one server would win against any other is to fuss with the baseline. For example, if you’re in charge of counting “active players”, you simply DECREASE the number of active players on the preferred server and INCREASE the number of active players on the server you want to lose or, to make it seem fair, on ALL the other servers. You change the baseline and make the goal easier to reach for the preferred server(s) and harder – potentially MUCH harder – for other servers to reach. We were not given the number of supposedly active players per servers. So we’ll never know what baseline was used, and we will never know if those numbers were accurate anyway. Using "percentages of completion" seems fair until you consider how that baseline can so easily be moved.

2) It’s a counting thing – Even if you assume that the baselines were honest, you have no idea how many completed quests there were. Were the rumored incomplete quests on another server counted? Who really knows?

If the math on this doesn’t make sense to you, let me know and I’ll show you.

Another theory … differences in server maintenance …