Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Flash warnings and how to fix them

  1. #1
    Community Manager BB_Aeyline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    862
    World
    Ares

    Flash warnings and how to fix them

    Dear Settlers,

    As of July 24th, 2017 we've received reports of login difficulties and other inconveniences. The following explanations should address these issues and give you a proper workaround.

    • Browser notification "Your Flash version is not up to date - please load the latest version";
    • (Flash) Blocked browser with a notification regarding blocked Akamai content;
    • Steam/Slim: white screen when loading the forum;
    • Notification pop-up of an error/update/block.


    Note: This post aims to provide a brief overview offering insights into the error, workarounds and causes, and can be considered as a starting point for further investigations.
    If you would like to contribute with additional helping steps, please let us know by sending a private message.


    Pre-check
    1. Clear your cookies and Cache! Without this, your game will load old data connections which do not work anymore.
    2. If you have bookmarked the page, delete it and save the new address (see http > https forum post)
    3. If you get a notification that you have no Flash version installed, simply click on OK - a popup will appear and you should accept the change (unblock content).

    Chrome
    • Open the following page: chrome://settings/content/flash;
    • "Allow Flash on your websites" must be activated!


    • Additionally, click on Add a page;
    • In the new window, add the new address for The Settlers Online;

    • Click on Add.


    Internet Explorer/Edge
    • Here you should get a popup notification that your Flash version is not up to date;


    • In this popup, click on the red line Install Flash-Player;
    • A pop-up will appear;

    • In the pop-up window, click on Always allow to use Adobe on this webpage;
    • You should then save the changes and be able to login again.


    Firefox
    • You should see a small red icon to the left of the 'The Settlers Online' address;
    • Click on this red button and a notification will appear explaining that "Adobe Flash was blocked";
    • You will now see 2 options, click on Allow;



      If the red button is missing, you can click on the grey lock and change the settings/blocking there!


    Deactivate Script blockers!

    It is already known that script blockers can block our game content - as of now, scriptblocker will also block our CDN Akamai.
    You need to allow this connection and unblock Akamai in order to be able to play the game.
    Ideally, you should completely deactivate any script blockers (ghostscript/Adblocker, etc.), as they could block the game connections and intervene with your gaming experience.


    We have no workaround for steam yet, so the direct connection to the forum will show a white screen. However, you can avoid this issue by clicking on forum in one of our website announcements.
    Last edited by BB_Amta; 07-27-17 at 06:31 am.

  2. #2
    Recruit
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    4
    World
    Ares
    After updating windows + Edge, got problem about identifying flash follow steps to solve, then chat becomes very slow to response to key strokes, takes couple of seconds to show the letter after pressed in chat window
    Microsoft Edge 40.15063.0.0
    Microsoft EdgeHTML 15.15063
    Windows 10 Pro, build:1703, OS build:15063.502,CPU:inter icore i7-4600U 2.10GHz 2.70GHz

  3. #3
    Soldier Ultim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    72
    World
    Zeus
    What pissed me off the most was that your website told me that my flash(on latest Chrome) is out of date, even though its built in. There was no popup or a warning that it could be disabled. How was I supposed to know that it was set to "Ask" and your website didnt ask for it to be enabled? Fix your warnings for chrome. The user CANT update flash player and it needs to be set to allow flash player on your website. You dont have to set it to allow for every website, can just click the "i" icon in front of the URI and set flash to allow. But the warning is misleading. Was about to quit because of that.

    Firefox still puts Trade office window into the corner on the latest version and i cant move it because half of it is out of screen basically.

  4. #4
    Recruit
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2
    World
    Zeus
    Chrome will no longer support flash after December 2019. Is there a workaround or will the game simply not be playable on Chrome forcing us to use a different browser?

  5. #5
    Mayor
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,615
    World
    Ares
    Still a valid question that needs an answer soon, but support ends in a year. All browsers will likely follow suit. I like Firefox's current blocking implementation a lot better (same as Opera's).

  6. #6
    Noble CoffeeCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    323
    World
    Ares
    I'm trying out the "slim browser" tonight which rumor has it will still work...

  7. #7
    Mayor
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    ontario, canada
    Posts
    1,312
    World
    Ares
    and i cant use the 'bb browser' unless i load a virtual machine - which is bit excessive for a game.. i guess bb really doesn't care about their mac gamers

Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts